Knysna Municipality logo

Do you need to contact Knysna Municipality?

USEFUL NUMBERS

  • Account Enquiries: +27 (0)44 302 6558 / +27 (0)44 302 6559
  • Driver’s Licences: +27 (0)44 302 6451
  • Electrical Faults: +27 (0)44 302 6397 / +27 (0)44 302 6399
  • Electrical Faults after hours: +27 (0)44 302 8911
  • Emergency & Fire:  +27 (0)44 302 8911
  • Report Potholes/Bad Roads: +27 (0)44 302 6309
  • Report Water/Sewerage leaks: +27 (0)44 302 6331
  • Vehicle Registrations: +27 (0)44 302 6433

MUNICIPAL MANAGER

Contact Municipal Manager:
Grant Easton
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6590
Email: geaston@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Communications and Customer Relations:
Christopher Bezuidenhout
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6517
Email: cbezuidenhoudt@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Performance, Internal Audit and Risk Management:
Walter McCartney
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6425
Email: wmccartney@knysna.gov.za

COMMUNITY SERVICES

The Director Community Services oversees four major departments that incorporate services including Disaster Management, Fire and Rescue, Traffic and Law Enforcement, Parks, Waste Management, Libraries, Halls, Cemeteries, Museums, Arts and Culture, Waste Management and Cleansing, Youth and Sport Development.

Contact Director Community Services:
Dawie Adonis
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6442
Email: dadonis@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Solid Waste Management:
Steven Langlands
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6304
Email: slanglands@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Libraries and Heritage:
Xola Frans
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6303
Email: xfrans@knysna.gov.za

Contact Acting Manager Protection Services:
Richard Meyer
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6426
Email: rmeyer@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Parks and Recreation:
Clive Nuns
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6327
Email: cnuns@knysna.gov.za

Contact Sports:
Virgil Kortje
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6444

CORPORATE SERVICES

The Director Corporate Services is responsible for the administrative processes that ensure good governance and the achievement of Council’s strategic objectives.

Contact Director Corporate Services:
Bevan Ellman
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6455
Email: bellman@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Human Resources:
Gumbi Tyelela
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6455
Email: gtyelela@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Legal Services:
Melony Paulsen
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6492
Email: mpaulsen@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Public Participation:
Jacky Kalani
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 1640
Email: jkalani@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Administration
Carl Mattheus
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6445
Email: cmattheus@knysna.gov.za

Contact Head Committees and Council Support:
Jill Lakay
Telephone: +27(0)44 302 6314
Email: jlakay@knysna.gov.za

Contact Head Records and Property Management:
Mario Bonthuys
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6370
Email: mbonthuys@knysna.gov.za

FINANCIAL SERVICES

All finance-related services as well as the Information Technology department.

Contact Director Finance:
Pariksha Gobrie
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6389
Email: pgobrie@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Budget Office:
Avitha Sunkar
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6424
Email: asunkar@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Income:
William Fillies
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6413
Email: wfillies@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Expenditure:
Fredri Kruger
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6380
Email: fkruger@knysna.gov.za

Contact Acting Manager Information Technology (IT):
Lezelle Plaatjies
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6543
Email: lplaatjies@knysna.gov.za

 

PLANNING & DEVELOPMENT

Responsible for the departments related to town and economic development.

Contact the Acting Director Planning and Development:
Marlene Boyce
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6351
Email: mboyce@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Town Planning and Building Control:
Hennie Smit
Telephone: +27 (0) 44 302 6319
Email: hsmit@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Economic Development:
Ilse van Schalkwyk
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6358
Email: ivanschalkwyk@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Integrated Development Plan (IDP):
Eben Phillips
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6363
Email: ephillips@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Environmental Management:
Thabo Mabula
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6344
Email: tmabula@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Integrated Human Settlements:
Mawethu Penxa
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6347
Email: mpenxa@knysna.gov.za

TECHNICAL SERVICES

Services pertaining mainly to bulk infrastructure.

Director Technical Services:
Michael Rhode
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6312
Email: mrhode@knysna.gov.za

Contact Deputy Town Engineer Water and Sewer:
Rhoydon Parry
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 1615
Email: rparry@knysna.gov.za

Contact Deputy Town Engineer Public Works:
Shaun Maree
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 1618
Email: smaree@knysna.gov.za

Manager Project Management Unit:
Jemaine Cupido
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6392
Email: jcupido@knysna.gov.za

ELECTROTECHNICAL SERVICES

Incorporates all services related to distribution of electricity and oversees the municipality’s fleet and mechanical workshop.

Contact Director Technical Services (Electro-Technical):
Michael Rhode
Telephone: +27 (0)44 302 6312
Email: mrhode@knysna.gov.za

SAFETY

Contact Fire and Rescue Emergencies:
044 302 8911

Contact Chief Fire Officer:
Dries Pretorius
Telephone: 044 302 8902
Email: dpretorius@knysna.gov.za

Contact Head Traffic and Law Enforcement:
Anthony Bans
Telephone: 044 302 6361
Email: abans@knysna.gov.za

DISASTER MANAGEMENT

This department works in coordination with other local, regional and even national disaster management and emergency services in cases mostly related to natural disasters such as flooding, fire and extreme wind conditions.

Contact Head Disaster Management:
Richard Meyer
Telephone: 044 302 6426
Email: rmeyer@knysna.gov.za

Contact Manager Community Safety:
Steven Langlands
Telephone: 044 302 6304
Email: slanglands@knysna.gov.za

Contact Secretary to the Director Community Services:
Shahida Sigula
Telephone: 044 302 6442
Email: ssigula@knysna.gov.za